Birmingham School of Law Hosts BLSA Moot Court Competition

Birmingham School of Law hosted the 2018 Southern Regional Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition in early February. The event is sponsored by the Black Law Student Association (BLSA) and takes place annually in one of the six geographical regions of which BLSA is comprised. Schools represented in this year’s competition were the University of Florida, Levin College of Law, Atlanta’s John Marshall School of Law, Emory University School of Law, University of North Carolina School of Law, University of Alabama School of Law, and Charleston School of Law.


The top three teams that advanced to the National Competition in Brooklyn, NY, to represent the BLSA’s Southern Region are Atlanta’s John Marshall School of Law, the University of Alabama School of Law, and the University of North Carolina School of Law.


Don Mosely, president of the Birmingham School of Law BLSA chapter, organized and hosted this year’s Moot Court. “The competition simulates an appellate oral argument proceeding, and I was extremely pleased with the quality of oral advocacy displayed by each competitor,” Mosely says. “Holding the competition in Birmingham was special for us. Alabama is near and dear to BLSA’s heart, because our founder, A.J. Cooper, is an Alabama native.”


Another special feature of this year’s court was the judging panel composed of Judge Advocate General’s (JAG) Corps, a first-time occurrence in Birmingham. “The JAG Corps usually judge competitions in northern cities, so it is unique to have them in Birmingham,” Mosely says.


Participants in this year’s Moot Court were Joshua Salley, Victoria Hurse, Kamairi Fayall, Michael Clemons, Emon Northe, Chelsea Barnes, Imani Shaw, Jodi Wilson, Natalie Foster, Jovanne Stewart, Daneal Barnaby, Barry Burkett, Richard Awopetu, Carlos Andino III, Chelsea Wilkerson, Genghis Shakhan, Alisha Moriceau, Sherry Glover, Bethanie Maxwell, and Kaliegh Darty.